Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

Smartphones have become an addiction nowadays especially for young ones. It has become a debatable topic whether spending a lot of time on smartphones is beneficial or harmful for children. This essay will present the causes for this along with my opinion. To commence with, one of the possible reasons maybe that in present times there are less playgrounds available for kids because of construction of more residential buildings. Secondly, parents usually do not allow children to play outside as the crime rate has been significantly risen in recent times. Another reason could be online classes and homework which also increases the screen duration. Furthermore, videogames and social media is so captivating that pupils tends to allocate more of their leisure time playing and surfing online. To my way of thinking, it is more of a negative development as giving more time to screens weakens the eye-sight. Besides, they looses interest in outer world that results a lack in their social life and relations. Moreover, smartphones tends to be not only addictive but also deminish the focusing ability of brain by interferring with their cognition system. To conclude, There are some factors like availability of playgrounds, parents restrictions and classes on computer that adds to screen-timing but it is an undeniable fact that spending long hours on mobile phones alters the human brain power and eye-sight as well as affects their social life.