Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying that teaching English as a second language at school is nowadays considered of paramount importance, even though this might hinder the knowledge of local languages. In my personal opinion, in rural communities or remote areas which might benefit more from dialects than from international languages, English learning should be put aside in favour of local speech. First and foremost, English is crucial for countless reasons, such as social, professional, diplomatic, and commercial ones. Thus, seizing the opportunity to learn this foreign language at a young age might represent a relevant advantage in our globalized world. Nonetheless, there are some individuals for whom it is not that convenient to practise what is so crucial to us. For instance, it would be less probable for the inhabitants of a far village in Amazon to dislodge to the U.S or to Europe. Conversely, transmitting local cultures, traditions, and dialects would be more relevant for the well-being of their communities. For the aforementioned reasons, we should protect, revive, and possibly hand-down local languages, specifically in particular contexts. To ensure this, cultural events, like theatre shows, organized speeches with locals, and book readings in dialect should be promoted. Thus, historical traditions might be transmitted to the younger generations, and age-old stories might outlive throughout the years. To conclude, while English is of undeniable relevance in our modern society, it is also true that some areas need their local languages to survive. For this reason, several suggestions might be taken into account, to prevent those antique traditions from disappearing.