Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, when prospective employees sign up for an open position in a company, oftentimes they are asked to fill down private data such as favourite activities and marital status. Some say this requirement is not needed, while others say this is necessary. In my opinion, this additional information is helpful, especially for the recruiters. This essay will elaborate on both positions below. First of all, candidates think this information is not relevant to the hiring process. There is no guarantee they will be chosen for the position and jotting down so much private information is oversharing and a risky move. For example in Indonesia, curriculum vitae and private information people usually send to recruiters can be seen as used paper to wrap a snack on the street. On the other side, statuses like married, divorced, or single are important for the human relations officer to curate candidates that do not meet the user or management criteria. Additionally, they need this data to calculate a projection of the prospective employee's family allowance. As for the hobbies and interests, the recruiters could get to know about a person's lifestyle and habits. For instance, when a candidate says they like to browse short videos and play games, there is a possibility that this person is lazy and unmotivated. To conclude, prospective candidates think this additional information is not required and could be completed later when they join the company. While that is true, in my opinion, this administration is important in helping employers curate a huge number of documents. Even so, I think the recruiters need to have the integrity to dispose of the rejected applicant's data responsibly.