Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way ton reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Imprisonment serves the purpose of punishing law offenders and more importantly to remind public about the serious impact of committing crime. Many people believe current prison sentences should be longer in order to be more effective in reducing crime rate while others believe in alternative ways. Personally i'm in the opinion of there has to be alternative ways when it comes to reducing crime rate. Firstly, instead of merely prison sentencing, caning could be added together. The wound healing process after being caned is lengthy and often it impacts daily activities hence it is a good way to increase the intensity of the punishment. Caning is commonly being used for men due to the extreme pain it causes, however, this could be extended to women as well for a more holistic approach in reducing crime rate. On the other hand, it is an expense for government to keep prisoners. For example, prisoners get meals, medical care, and other basic care. In the event where prison sentences is extended, this simply means government will have to spend even more on funding the prisons. These expenses are not for the purpose of generating revenue hence it should be kept at the lowest possible. For those who believe longer prison sentences is more effective in reducing crime, it might not work out as intended as many wouldn't be able to visualise the difference of spending 3 years in prison compared to spending 5 years. Undoubtedly, this could intimidate the potential offenders however to what extended this method is effective is hard to measure. In conclusion, judging from effectiveness and economy perspective, there are alternative ways to reduce crime and longer prison sentences is not the most ideal solution.