Some people say that the only reason for learning a foregin language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country . Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own pinion.

People have different views about whether travelling to or working in another country is the only reason for learning foreign languages. Although having foreign language skills is important for working or travelling overseas, I do not believe this is the only reason. Some people argue that the purpose of learning foreign languages is to travel to or work in a foreign country. First, having the ability to understand what local people say can make communication more efficient and help to avoid misunderstanding. By contrast, travellers with weak foreign language skills may find it difficult to get around in another country. Also, the multilanguage ability is highly pursued by employers, especially for those who are from multinational corporations, because the promotion of a variety of projects needs communication with local people. This means that employees who can speak a language other than their mother tongue would have a competitive edge when entering the job market. However, I would agree with those who argue that people learn foreign languages also out of other purposes. Learning a foreign language is a good way to expand people's horizons and deepen their understanding of other countries' cultures and customs because language is more than a simple tool for communication but a key part of the heritage of people speaking it. For example, some people learn foreign languages through documentary videos, which gives them opportunities to learn how people live and survive in that country. Furthermore, mastering a foreign language can help people make more new friends. For instance, English is the predominant language used on some popular social media like TikTalk and Instagram, which means that netizens who can speak English are more likely to socialise with people from other countries. In conclusion, while travelling to and working in another country are two key purposes for learning foreign languages, other purposes, such as interest and socialisation, should not be neglected.