Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the numbers of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a multitude of benefits to moving the body and engaging in physical activities that can potentially increase the overall health of an individual. While many believe that increasing the number of sports amenities will result in better public well-being, others say that these facilities may not have such a significant impact. In my opinion, increasing the number of facilities may not prove to be the best solution. There are several benefits to increasing the roster of sports amenities.It would generate awareness amongst people to take up physical activities of any kind, for example, corporate workers who had an interest in badminton when they were younger can now start playing the sport again.Another benefit would be that even younger children can inculcate the habit of moving their body and learn the rules of a sport. Playing sports from a young age is not only beneficial to the long-term health of the individual but also instils various other qualities like being an effective team player. Although physical activity is beneficial for overall fitness, there are a few reasons why general public health may not improve with the increase in sporting resources. One of them is that some people simply do not enjoy playing a sport. For example, somebody might enjoy reading a book in a library more than exerting themselves at a skating rink, in which case, the increase in the sports machinery has no impact on the person's fitness.Another aspect of health to focus on is the food consumed.Exercise is only a part of the public well-being mission and a majority of the load of public health is the diet that people follow. No matter how much time a person may spend doing physical activities and playing sports if their diet remains full of sugary substances, their health will only deteriorate. In conclusion, I think that greater importance must be given to improving the quality of food that the public consumes rather than the amount of physical activity that they perform. Although sports facilities would improve the amount of movement in a person's life, diet has a greater impact on their health. Therefore, a greater number of sports amenities may not lead to improvement in public health.