The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the fuel cost. Do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that raising the cost of fuel is the best way to handle the environmental problem. However, I think this solution is not effective and there are other practical ways to solve this issue. Increasing fuel costs not only has low feasibility, but also negatively impacts society. First of all, raising petrol costs does not help to solve the problem because the demand of humans for commuting to work or to school is still high. Therefore, even if the government increases the fuel price, the number of vehicles on the streets still does not decrease, leading to no reduction in exhaust fumes emitted into the atmosphere. Besides, raising the fuel cost also influences people’s lives. Fuel plays a crucial role in the manufacturing process, so if factories must spend more money on fuel, it requires them to increase the final cost of the product. As a result, the rise in the price of fuel leads to the cost of many items increasing, so it puts economic pressure on residents. There are many other solutions that can help to tackle environmental problems. One of the most effective ways to reduce gas emissions is that encourage people to use public transport to replace motorbikes and cars. To do that, in addition to raising the awareness of people about the positive impact of public transport on the environment, the government also should enhance the standard of the public transport system such as widening the routes, improving seat quality and ensuring punctuality. By this way people will prefer to travel by public transport, which helps to reduce a significant amount of emissions into the air. In addition, most of the emissions come from industrial activities, so those wastes need to be treated carefully before being released into the environment. The government should strictly punish the factories that discharge untreated emissions into the environment. In conclusion, increasing fuel costs not only is inefficient to solve the environmental problems, it also causes negative impacts on populations. Therefore, I think some solutions like using public transport and strictly managingmanage factory emissions are more effective.