Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial perspective fueling a debate over gun usage in law enforcement. It is believed that the more police forces are armed, the more violent society becomes. Although this is true to some extent, I would not regard myself as a proponent of this statement. Undoubtedly, arming the police with powerful weapons could result in a dramatic hike in the level of violence in a society. On the grounds that police officers often tackle dangerous perpetrators, sometimes they might mistake a normal citizen for an unlawful criminal. As a result, police brutalities could happen, rendering detrimental effects on residents’ normal lives. The USA can be cited as an outstanding instance of this phenomenon as many people are killed due to certain acts of the police. To be specific, a young boy was killed by an officer due to the fact that he mistook him for a hazardous offender. Therefore, it is true that equipping the police with firearms might lead to a greater level of violence. While the demerits of armed law enforcement officers with guns are widely acknowledged, it is undeniable that this also brings a wealth of merits. Owing to the complexities of criminals in this day and age, equipping the police with a variety of personal defence systems could help them to lower the rate of crime in society. Not only does this demotivate the criminals from practicing illegal practices but this also helps the police to deal with them effectively. For instance, almost every police officer in Vietnam is armed with powerful firearms, rendering a lower crime rate than in many countries. Thus, equipping the police with personal defence weapons brings tremendous benefits. To conclude, despite the fact that arming police officers with weapons might result in police brutality, it is more beneficial if they have the right tools to tackle the criminals.