Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leaisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to the latest research on the internet, almost half of the corporate companies are not following 9-5 working hours. This culture is now used as a shelter in many industries. People are now more focused on putting extra hours in the office due to performance evaluations or increments. This routine has made individuals forget about their leisure activities, and the impact is real. This situation has a lot of disadvantages. Many think that putting in extra effort will create a good impression on management and they will get benefits out of it. But I believe, in our society, people with more qualifications have a higher chance of getting a promotion than individuals who are low in qualifications and are putting in extra hours. This mindset creates a negative impact on these types of individuals because when they don't get something of their expectations, there are high chances of low morale and less motivation. For example, a guy in my company spends a lot of time in the office just to impress the management and there is one guy who works 9-5 in the office and spends the rest of the time in other activities. The second guy always gets a promotion and is rewarded for his outstanding work due to his smartness, and the other guy always fails to get a promotion. Ultimately, he is also losing time for other activities and tends to have low morale as well. On the other hand, long hours sometimes give more benefits to the people but it is rare nowadays. Companies are now more focused on the number of tasks done on a weekly basis. This trend is now changing and moving to a work-life balance culture. In conclusion, it depends on which society you are living in and what companies you want to choose for your better career.