There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the cut-throat competition, parents are more inclined to give higher education to their offspring. Nowadays, there is a highly competitive in the education field. It is argued that this can be mitigated by eradicating non-academic subjects like painting and cookery from the educational system and if is so, children will have an excessive amount of time to do academic work. I totally disagree with the given statement, since both science-based subjects and artsy- subjects bring about well-developed individuals. To begin with, there are many boons in non-academic subjects, namely cognitive development and being cooperative. Firstly, while doing painting and cookery, children will learn many life-skills. It can be influenced brain development as well as, it directly affects cognitive. For instance, according to a recent research, which was done by the health authorities of the USA, it reveals that over 90% of children who engaged with non-academic work, those have higher cognitive skills than who did not engage that kinds of work. Secondly, in the school class room children can do painting and cookery programs. In these kind of situations, they tend to share tools with their peers and garner real-life experiences such as patience. Therefore, it can be said that non-academic subjects bring about many merits. Secondly, both academic and non-academic subjects have equal weight for children's education system. To be more precise, school’s syllabus which contain both these subjects can help to developed well-being individuals to the society. Because through cooperative working, adolescents can learn many life-skills such as how to patient to others and how to manage time effectively. For example, a well-known published article in Sri Lanka depicts that 87% of pupils who did only science-based subjects, cannot manage their day to day routine effectively. Thus, it is crystal clear that non-academic subjects should be in the school syllabus. In conclusion, there is a belief that artsy subjects should be removed from school syllabus to alleviate pressure on children regarding academic learning. I totally disagree with this phenomenon, since both subjects are equally influence in terms of children's well-being. It is recommended that the government should impose stringent laws to school syllabus that consist of both academic and non-academic subjects.