Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the technological breakthrough, people are inclined to use social media such as Facebook. It is widely argued that newer technology may inflict the bonds of close relations negatively. I completely agree with the given phenomenon, since newer technological communication may weaken genuine human connections and it brings about social isolation and family issues. Firstly, due to the cutting edge communication technology, people tend to meet their friends and relations through social media rather than visiting them physically. This will mitigate face-to-face interactions and people can hide their true face from the public. As a result, genuine relationships may be broken. For instance, a recent study which was done by the ministry of social affairs in Sri Lanka, reveals that 97% of people are reluctant to visit their kith and kin. Therefore, it is clear that digital communication devices have many drawbacks. Secondly, modernized communication ushers social loneliness and alleviates familial bonds. To be more precise, a person who is addicted to social media such as Facebook, cannot maintain a good relationship with his or her family. This tendency leads to many social concerns. For instance, approximately 97% of individuals who spend more time with digital devices, tend to report divorce cases, according to a recent research which was done by the authorities of USA. Hence, by engaging more time with modern communication technology may results in personal lives negatively. In conclusion, there is a common belief that cutting edge communication may weaken individuals’ relationships as well as, it brings about negative ramifications. I totally agree with the given view, because newer technology results in many social burdens. It is recommended that the sovereign government should impose public awareness programs and impose stringent laws on social platforms to protect society as well.