Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although it is often thought that teachers should not give children homework every day, other people consider that students ought to be given homework on a daily basis. In my opinion, I believe that homework is vital, nevertheless, it is not compulsory for pupils to have it every day. On the one hand, according to some, children should do more academic-related tasks at home to master the new knowledge that they have learned in the classroom. In other words, homework helps children acquire new skills better. For example, learners who start to learn multiplication in their mathematics class may face some challenges in remembering the whole multiplication table, so in this case, most teachers require their students to read it five times per day as their homework in order to memorize the table within a week. On the other hand, some people claim that it is better if the emphasis at school is on extracurricular activities. When children are given homework regularly, this can cause some detrimental effects to children. For instance, In China, many primary school students go to bed late because they have to complete their homework for at least 3 different classes per day, and this eventually affects their health because they do not have enough rest. Therefore, schools should manage the amount of homework they give to their students, and give them space to practice their interests and hobbies. Finally, in my view, homework should depend on the lecture. If the lesson is hard to accept, children should exercise more to help them achieve the knowledge. This is especially vital for subjects which involve a lot of rules and structures such as English, mathematics, and Science. In contrast, when the lesson is easy to understand, homework will be a waste. Schools, hence, need to help children to balance time for homework and outdoor activities. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think academic drilling is crucial for students especially when they do not understand a lesson clearly, however, if they can comprehend what the teachers teach in class, homework is not necessary.