In some cultures, children are often told that they can achive anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this messages?

Although, in some ideas, adults teach children that if you make an effort, you can obtain everything, this belief has good and bad effects on young people. This essay will discuss both aspects. To begin with, there is a positive aspect to this idea, witch children are motivated to attempt some things, and this challenge might cause an ideal result for them. For example, when it comes to school life, exam results are very important for young people. Therefore, once they learn that studying hard with their efforts brings good results, they are motivated to study and it could become a habit of study. As a result, those children grow up as well-educated students, and it is quite possible that they can achieve to enrol on a famous university. On the other hand, it can be considered that believing this idea too much brings a terrible disappointment, when children are failing some things. This is because we have to take their gift or talent into account. For instance, if a child who is bad at doing sports makes a significant effort to be a famous soccer player in the future, it is obviously challenging and might be almost impossible. Despite this fact, if the child keeps working hard, believing that making efforts never betray himself or herself, when someday he notices that this is not true, he will be depressed. In conclusion, although there is no doubt that making effort provides us with positive results, it is certainly true that believing too much in this idea will hurt us someday. Because success needs factors of not only their effort but also gift or talent.