In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Owing to the technological breakthrough, people ’s life became easier than ever before. Printed media such as newspapers or books will soon be supplanted by virtual media due to free availability. I agree with the given phenomenon since it ushers convenience to individuals and money saving; However, printed media brings reliable and strictly censored information. There are two major benefits of e- books namely, convenience and money-saving. Firstly, owing to a hectic life, people do not have any time for reading newspapers or books. Apart from that, e- books can be read at any time anywhere. Secondly, people have to spend money to purchase newspapers or books. Hence, most people tend to read e- books. For instance, according to recent research, which was held by the University of Colombo, has found out that 95% of the youngest are more inclined to go through online platforms. Therefore, it can be said that virtual media brings many advantages. On the other hand, printed media is embedded with well-written and strictly censored information. Before publishing newspapers or books, data are checked by professional journalists. For instance, a well-known magazine in Sri Lanka, said 78% of people trust printed media rather than virtual media. Thus, newspapers and books are far better wealth in terms of reliability. To conclude, Printed media is highly likely to overlap with online platforms in the near future because it is free of charge. I agree with the given statement since e-papers and e- books bring easy accessibility and may ameliorate money savings; However, authentic data cannot be neglected. It is recommended that government should impose stringent laws for online publishers to protect online readers.