The internet is a good source of information and opened up opportunities for people all over the world. Is all information reliable online?What could be done to control information online? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The internet has everything that we want to know, it has a tremendously huge range of information and covers almost every aspect of human's lives. However, everyone in this world could write or share any information that might not be legit. Therefore, a few steps should be taken to ensure that we only appreciate the legit information from the internet. To begin with, although the internet has made access to a huge range of information easily available, we have to be curious as not all information posted on the internet is true and legitimate. Indeed, there are always people who post contrary opinions to what we have already believed in. The perfect example of this would be the posts about the earth that is actually flat. On, theinternet there are a wide range of posts, data and arguments to convince people that the earth is not round but flat. As a result, many people in my country believe that the earth is flat despite knowledge and evidence showing that it is round and rotates every 24 hours. Therefore, I firmly believe that not all information available online is reliable and can be trusted. There are a few different steps that can be taken to ensure the reliability of the data we extract online. First, promoting digital literacy, in other words, having sufficient knowledge about how these digital platforms work and how we can filter the information from the internet. For example, when we read online news, we have to make sure that the publisher is well-known and reliable. Some accurate sources of news in Indonesia would be Kompas, Sindo, Republika and many others. A further method to control information is regulation. In Indonesia, there is a department that mainly focuses on this issue which is the the Ministry of Communication and Information. This ministry is responsible for not only blocking or restricting inappropriate content like pornography, but also ensuring that information accessible on the internet is reliable and true. In conclusion, having surf the internet every day, I vehemently believe that not all data available online is reliable. Governments and people should work together to control information online.