There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

It has been observed that a number of husbands and wives nowadays do not want to have babies. The benefits of not having a baby are the freedom to travel and ample personal time while the drawbacks are loneliness and stressful life. One of the major advantages of not having offspring is that couples have the freedom to go on a vacation and spend quality time with their partners. Moreover, people have enough time to focus on their career goals and work hard to achieve them, whereas it becomes difficult for the parents to achieve their targets once a child is born. My cousin, for instance, got married when he was 30 years old and decided not to have children in order to make progress in his career. He is currently working as the CEO of a multi-national company and has the freedom to shape his life the way he wants to. The disadvantage of not having children is that after a certain time, both husband and wife feel lonely when they see other couples with newly-born babies. As a result, parents suffer from loneliness and their lives are filled with stress due to their limitless workload. For example, one of the surveys conducted on office workers revealed that employees who didn't have any infants tend to lead a life full of stress and are unhappy compared to the employees who have one or two children. To conclude, this essay discussed freedom and personal space as the major benefits for spouses who are without offspring while loneliness and a life full of stress are the drawbacks in the absence of children.