The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

Traditional exams have been decreased among certain demographics of countries. These people claim that tests lead to stress for students as such are preventable. However, arising issues seem to continuously loom over these prospects, which will be discussed below and I will offer my view. To begin with, parents are always been wary of raising their children. Therefore, present day, the reduction of exams at school is a beneficial trend for students. Due to that, students are put under stress by parents for higher scores on an exam. It is evident that, in Sri Lanka, each year more than 10 per cent of students are committing suicide for low scores on exams specifically at an advanced level by enthusiastic parents. Overall, exams put a pupil under stress and make them sick. On the other hand, the students can not gain more knowledge from the continuous assessment rather than writing an exam. Moreover, a test is important for every student to improve their knowledge in every grade. Indeed, there have been some records, that in a sophisticated world, everyone has a mobile phone, therefore, they can not put an effort into assessment by themselves. Consequently, knowledge is limited gradually. Finally, continuous assessments are good for learning but they should do that by themselves. To conclude, despite the benefits of exams, the disadvantages of traditional exams trump the advantages in a milestone. In my opinion, exams are beneficial for gaining knowledge, however, too much pressure puts a child's life in danger.