The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by giving up to six years of free education, so that they can at least read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the ongoing poverty in underdeveloped countries, a multitude of individuals maintain that the most optimal solution is to provide children with a 6-year education free of charge to eradicate illiteracy and improve numeracy. I find myself largely in agreement with this proposition as free education can equip them with foundational skills and liberate their mindset; however, it is essential to incorporate other solutions to form a comprehensive plan. The foremost rationale for my endorsement of free-of-charge early education as the best solution is that it provides all children in developing countries, regardless of their family background, fundamental academic skills which include the ability to read, write and perform basic maths. These foundational skills would form a concrete basis for these children to thrive in the pursuit of knowledge, acquiring desirable degrees which vastly increase the chances of paid employment and a stable income in the future. The second argument for why I support prioritising sponsoring tuition fees being the key to addressing poverty is the fact that school lessons allow children to escape from orthodox traditions. In the mountainous regions of Vietnam, these outdated traditions encompass early marriage, child labour and heavy drinking which are the underlying causes of underdevelopment. If all children were sent to free schools, they would be taught a more modern mindset, which celebrates liberation and personal growth, becoming independent individuals who can find their own way out of impoverishment. Nevertheless, I acknowledge the importance of other approaches in an effort to support impoverished people. For instance, financial organisations should provide funding for upgrading infrastructure with better-connected roads and bridges. These would not only foster economic growth but also cultural exchanges that enable sustainable development. In conclusion, I mostly agree with the idea of offering 6 years of schooling free of charge with a view to ending poverty in developing nations as it makes it possible for young people to acquire basic knowledge and have a more liberal mindset even though additional initiatives such as infrastructure improvement should also be in place. That is why governments should develop a comprehensive plan to address the issue of poverty systematically.