In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption.

In the last few decades, there has been a shift in people's drinking habits all across the world. Most of the population is moving towards energy drinks, soft drinks or even packaged fruit juices. These beverages are advertised as refreshing and flavourful. However, if one is to closely monitor the contents printed on the bottle, a concerning amount of sugar will always be presented. Considering the high sales of such drinks, the government must intervene to ensure that the manufacturers of such products are reprimanded and penalised. Manufacturers must advertise their product with more honesty, rather than pushing it as refreshing drinks. The sugar content in drinks must be reduced. Another step that is much needed at this hour is to raise general public awareness about this issue. In today's world, more than 40% of the population over 50 years old is diagnosed with diabetes. Child obesity is at an all-time high. Raised sugar content can impact various parts of bodies and may cause disability or death. Most diabetic patients have to make major lifestyle changes throughout their lives. The general public must be encouraged to embrace a more active lifestyle irrespective of their age. Walkathons and meditation classes must be organised at local general body levels. as we know, prevention is better than cure, if a healthy mindset is being taught at an early age, the aforementioned issues can be avoided.