Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to longer confinement sentences for the mob, there are differing opinions on the matter. It is important to explore both dialogues to gain a comprehensive understanding. In this essay, both communications will be discussed followed by my opinion. Supporters of longer lockup sentences argue that it will keep organized crime away from society. This means, that when syndicates stay in confinement, they do not harm innocent people and keeping them in confinement will help others stay safe and happy. For instance, a survey showed that in Delhi putting gangland behind bars is helping to reduce the crime rate. On the other hand, opponents of longer prison sentences contend that it will not help to change the criminal mindset. This is because, in, prison a person interacts and lives with other criminals when two same criminal mindset person will interact, it will not help in reducing the crime rate. To instantiate, it can be seen that in India most criminal groups are built in prisons and these groups are making crimes outside of prison. After considering both sides of an argument, I am inclined to support a longer prison sentence. I find the argument in favour of a longer prison sentence more compelling because punishment should be rigorous for criminals which will deter them from committing crimes. There are valid points made by the opposing side, however longer prison sentence offers more benefits for society. In conclusion, while both sides have their own points from my perspective, the benefits of a longer prison sentence for criminals for society will always outweigh its disadvantages.