Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The twentieth century is an era where everybody can go to their devices and find any information that they need. This is something positive for some topics, but it is bringing some negative points. Such as, sick people feeling free to start taking medications by themselves without consulting with an expert. I think that this action brings multiple disadvantages to society. I will explain, why I think this way in the following paragraph. First of all, the population that starts feeling sick decides to go to any pharmacy and auto-medicate themselves without having more information about this product. Probably, they start feeling better, but what they don't know is that some drugs can cause side effects. For example, taking NSAIDs for a long time starts damaging the kidneys. Hence, people are causing secondary diseases in themselves. Secondly, communities that already have health issues are taking pills that are not working as well as they would like to. Therefore, they are researching on Google what could help with their condition and changing their doctor's treatment. Thus, they do not value the importance of those professionals. Doctors take years to achieve their careers, but now, technology is getting over them which is not fair for doctors. They are made to do an exam and depending on their findings, they would prescribe a specific type of medication that would help with any condition. In conclusion, people are doing badly by getting drugs without asking a professional because even the medicine that helps with some diseases could lead to getting other ones. Additionally, this society is not respecting the role of a doctor. Therefore, it is a negative development.