Write about the following topic: In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Despite international tourism has been a relevant income for the economy of a vast of countries, it has also produced negative effects. I personally consider that drawbacks such as gentrification, and the loss of biodiversity surpass the benefits of international tourism. Firstly, the process of gentrification is evident in different poor or developed countries due to the presence of a lot of travelers. Indeed, tourists that prefer to visit countries with a low economic capacity, generally generate that the prices of necessities such as food, clothes, transportation, and even houses increase. As a result, many citizens do not have the capacity to afford those products or services, and therefore they have to leave the place that used to be their home. For instance, in the last years, heaps of cities in Latin America have been experiencing this phenomenon, and the local people have had to change not only the place they used to live, but also their gastronomy, and activities that they no longer can perform. Moreover, diverse natural places that are famous and are constantly visited by international people are not protected. Therefore, those ecosystems that are not cosseted, after so many visitors begin to accumulate pollution, that even the fauna and the flora no longer find a habitat like a place where they can live, then they extinct. As an example, there are some Mexican beaches that are worldwide known for their crystalline water, however, nowadays the number of waste like cans, boxes, and especially plastic in both the water and sand makes it difficult to enjoy the place, and be the home of different species. To conclude, social problems generated as a result of the presence of great quantities of tourism, and the lack of ecological tourism overlook the possible advantages of international tourism.