Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Whether universities should accept the same number of men and women in each course has become a hotly debated topic nowadays. From my point of view, higher education should be affordable and accessible for each sex, however, controlling the number of students may cause more harm than benefit. In the past, women were forbidden to learn some subjects, such as law or medicine, that were historically associated with men only. Today, there is no field, in which, with the appropriate level of knowledge, females cannot participate. For instance, in law, despite the fact that there are still more men than women, the number of the lasts is increasing rapidly. This trend is a natural development caused by the private choice of individuals and there is no need to university to step in and to control the situation. I do agree that both males and females should be enrolled in universities. In addition, I strongly support providing an equal opportunities approach, but priorities should be based on individual abilities and not on accomplishing a certain number of students according to their sex. For example, there are more men who are interested in engineering than women. Balancing between the two genders will lead to high competition among the men and low among the women, and, eventually, will end up with a great disproportion in the level of knowledge. To conclude, there is a natural correction of the number of women who decide to take part in higher education, so I do not agree that universities should manage the number of each gender in each course. However, they do need to provide equal opportunity for everyone to learn, based on her or his ability and knowledge.