Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Driven by industrialization and mass manufacturing, modern society produces more household waste than ever, which thus triggers a consideration on whether we should legalize to make citizens engage in recycling when families are not able to reuse everything as much as they can. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that this is not the only way to address the problem and more measures should be taken into account. On the one hand, the law regarding household recycling plays a crucial role in reducing the amount of garbage in homes. For one thing, the government is able to levy heavier taxes on family waste treatments, meaning that the more items are reused the less spending on treating them. As a result, residents will manage to make good use of everything until they are useless. For another, lawful requirements can function as a deterrent to mitigate the trend of using disposable items, such as plastic bags, non-rechargeable batteries and so on, which take a toll on the environment. For example, prohibiting the use of disposable bags from shopping can largely reduce “white pollution” across the globe, thus making the world go green. On the other hand, it may backfire if authorities enact laws strictly, which may not only place an extra financial burden on dwellers but force them to invest more time and effort in figuring out how to follow every rule properly. As a matter of fact, there are many feasible actions to combat the increasing amount of waste output from families. To begin with, the government can run campaigns to raise the public’s awareness of the repercussions of household waste and the ways to reuse it. In this way can we drive more people to get involved in waste recycling actively. Furthermore, more facilities should be built for citizens to live in a green manner. For instance, shopping malls can provide reusable bags for consumers if they forget to take them, thereby facilitating our lives. In conclusion, legal actions would be effective in grappling with recycling more home waste, but it is by no means the only solution to kick in.