Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent (widespread) and eventually replace traditional foods and methods of preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Processed food is gaining popularity among people these days. While I acknowledge the time efficiency and reduction in food waste that ready-made meals offer, I share the view that people will prefer to consume conventional foods in the future due to their irreplaceable quality and sustainability. On the one hand, ready-made foods are claimed to facilitate our lives, especially in today’s fast-paced world. Firstly, they may be a pragmatic option if one is in a hurry or lacks cooking skills. In fact, if individuals do not wish to do extensive cooking, processed food can save them time, as well as money. Secondly, environmental problems can be addressed indirectly to some extent by consuming prepared food, as they may increase the amount of food waste. The longer shelf life of these foods makes them more eco-friendly types of food. However, I personally consider them to be damaging to the environment since an excessive amount of packaging is required to store them. On the other hand, I believe that conventional foods and food -preparing ways will be more favourable options for most people, as the palate traditional meals offer can hardly be substituted by any other kind of nourishment. This is due to the fact that these kinds of foods are usually prepared by using fresh and natural ingredients which make them not only delicious but also nutritious. Moreover, traditional meal preparation generally involves ingredients that are eco-friendly, and thus sustainable. This will, in turn, help avoid environmental issues related to food production. In other words, natural goods used to prepare conventional foods are usually renewable, making them the primary choice of food in the future. In conclusion, although ready-made foods can seem to grow in popularity among consumers in the future due to their feature of time efficiency, I would argue that conventional meals will remain a dominant type of food, as they are rich in quality and greener.