The only way to reduce drug abuse is to legalise the substance and bring them under control. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Drugs abuse can be destructive and impact our society heavily with its misuse. Certain drugs are useful to cure many diseases whereas they make people addicted. The addiction costs them huge and sometimes even with their life. A few people believe that legalising the substance brings them under control but I disagree with this statement. Firstly, Overdose or excess of anything is harmful and Drugs misuse is dangerous not only to the person consuming it but also to society as well. Legalising the substance will cause a huge problem for society as the substance would be easily available and consumption will increase. An increase in consumption will lead to more customers and addiction. For instance, In India, a drug was legally named Corax, a medicine used to cure cough which contains alcohol. People got to know and started taking it in excessive amounts and falling sick instead of cure. Secondly, Legalising will help its easy production or import and companies will be getting huge profit out of it. They will find ways to breach the limit in control policies. For example, A drug named Affeem was produced in some states of India but under the control of the government. Those states have strong policies to control the selling through only selected channels Still the drug is easily available in the market and people consume more than the allowed quantity which results in bad health and risk of life. In conclusion, considering the above statements and examples I strongly believe that the government should impose an entire ban on such substances for sale in public. These drugs can be used for the treatment of the patient only under the control of senior doctors.