In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach in any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

In recent times, many individuals think that bike is the appropriate way to get to any place, despite technological advancement in transit. The benefits and drawbacks will be analysed in the forthcoming paragraphs. There are several advantages of riding a bicycle to places. Firstly, it improves physical health because it serves as a form of exercise, which helps to lose calories. Hence,it helps to stay healthy and active. Secondly, using a bike is eco-friendly. This is because it does not emit any greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, which leads to global warming. For example,the majority of Ghanaians started cycling to their workplaces, when they realised it is environmentally friendly as opposed to cars which pollute the environment. This activity has helped in reducing air pollution in the country. Finally, it is safe. This is because it reduces accidents on the road as compared to cars. Accidents caused by vehicles can lead to loss of lives and deformities. On the negative side, riding bicycles are not faster than driving cars. Travelling by cycle to long distances takes long hours to reach one's destination. Which can make an individual late to work. For instance, a distance which can take a car 10 minutes to cover, will take a bicycle 45 minutes to cover the same distance. Also, it is very difficult to use when the weather is not favourable such as scorching sun and heavy downpours. Since bicycles do not have any protective equipment against the weather. In conclusion, even with the technological improvement in transport, the merits of using cycles are improvement in health, reduced air contamination and accidents. However,it is slow to use and challenging to use during climate change.