In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Societies around the world have various ideas about the ageing population. some people are of the opinion that elderly people cause some pitfalls for governments, whereas others argue that old people are beneficial and uplifting for society. I contend the drawbacks involved are more. The first and foremost benefit to growing ageing has to do with experience. In other words, elderly people due to their knowledge and skills in their fields have more experience and can teach, and impart their expertise to youth in both life and work sides. An additional merit of the ageing population is that grandchildren can benefit from their grandparents' attendance. To illustrate the point, golden-agers can take their grandchildren to the local parks or play at home. The last but not least, old people are caring and supportive. To put it simply, children can care about them rather than put their parents in nursing homes. However, the downsides can not be ignored. One of the most significant demerits is that officials should devote a plethora of funding to old people in order to take care of them and provide free insurance. In other words, governments should develop high-tech and state-of-the-art hospitals and clinics to treat golden-agers. Another major drawback is associated with state-run retirement plans. Indeed, administrations should pay pensions to old people after their become retire, whereas authorities tend to pay salaries as long as people work for governments. To conclude, regardless of benefits, I firmly believe that the ageing population can be more problematic for governments because they should provide more funding for remedies, advanced hospitals, and free insurance for old people. In addition, retirement plans are considerably costly.