Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree

Companies used to spend massively advertising on mainstream media such as television, newspaper. From the last decade, the tide has turned that social media is often the main marketing channel. The rise of social media is due to many believe it can influence consumer’s purchasing behaviour more effectively. I strongly agree to this and in this essay how does social media influence what customers buy will be discussed. Firstly, social media is full of influencers who attract high number of followers. When the influencers publish new content online, their followers will be notified and have high chance of watching the content. This provides the influencers with massive opportunities to advertise for a product, it could be shampoo, household appliances, food, etc. This method works great in influencing consumer’s purchasing decision, because influencers are perceived to be genuine and not only for-profit. Rather than a typical advertisement of showing only good sides of a product, influencers appears to be more persuasive which they often share about the products and provide their user feedback. Secondly, people tend to share their life on social media. For example, they display their latest smart phone, skin care and this helps products to have higher visibility online. Users will commonly tag the products while they are sharing it online. Consequently, with many tagging the same product will create a multiplier effect whereby it is hot in demand. This creates the feeling of fear-of-missing-out and many ends up with buying the product. In addition, social media is designed to attract users to spend as much time on the platform as possible. The algorithms make content suggestion based on user’s browsing history and this makes targeted advertising easier than ever. For example, advertisement of new cookware will be shown to those who enjoy watching cooking video, follow celebrity chefs on social media, etc. In conclusion, with companies adding more budget on social media marketing is a strong proof that it is effective in influencing what customers buy.