The growing number of overweight people is putting a burden on the healthcare system in an efforts to deal with the issues involved. Some people think that the best way to solve this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The prevalence of obesity and overweight has been increasing for a few years. As they are often associated with related metabolic and lifestyle diseases, hospitals nowadays are overburdened by such patients. As per the given statement, some people argue that to improve the future situation, childhood schools should have a compulsory physical education program. I do agree with this opinion completely and will discuss it further in this essay. To begin, even though the world is divided into developed and developing countries surprisingly the problem of obesity and overweight is universal and becoming an epidemic. Diseases like hypertension, diabetes and many cardiac illnesses are causing strain on the healthcare system as a result of the issue of obesity. There are many reasons for the increasing number of overweight community and most common being food habits and lack of adequate physical activities. Furthermore, people lack determination towards a healthy lifestyle goal and regular sports which is required. However, this behaviour could be modified by pushing more sports and physical education in early childhood literacy. For instance, if a school course starts a mandatory sport or any outdoor or indoor physical program, it will be in the habit of all students. So, even during adult life, this will be followed by most who can motivate their other colleagues, friends and co-workers. Further to add, a disciplinary life in childhood has a long-lasting impact. There are very few people in society who encourage others to remain physically active but the addition of compulsory sports and physical learning in schools will add more and certainly be beneficial to society. Moreover, school program could involve not alone children but their parents also in these activities and educate and encourage them all to play games. To sum up, it is indeed true that hospitals are overburdened with the rising concerns of overweight and causative diseases. In my opinion, the idea of having physical training and sports in the school curriculum is an excellent way to promote a healthy lifestyle and I completely agree with this statement.