Despite a varity of sports facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays than ever before what do you think are the main causes of this problem? what solutions can you suggest?

Even though we all have heard from our older generation that health is wealth, still nowadays most people have health issues even if there are plenty of recreational facilities available such as gyms. This essay will outline the root causes as well as some important suggestions for today's generation. To embark upon, the predominant causes are easy access to junk food and a sedentary lifestyle. To elaborate, people tend to buy pre-cooked food items as it is cheap and readily available but on the other hand, these packed foods are high in sodium and fats which adversely affect health. Moreover, people prefer to stay in their own comfort zone so instead of walking or exercising, they prefer to stay at home and binge-watch movies. For example, according to the WHO, 80% of the American population is obese and has a higher BMI index because of their unhealthy diet. Yet another reason to consider is expensive memberships of the gyms and the recreational centres which are not affordable for a middle-class person. Henceforth, junk food and unaffordable prices at the health centre have resulted in an unhealthy generation. Switching to meals with complete nutrition that includes carbohydrates, protein, fats, vitamins and minerals not only improves physical health but always enhances mental well-being. Moreover, creating awareness among people through campaigns and lectures will educate them about their own bodies. For instance, in the article 'The Economic Times', 80% of the students studying at the University of Toronto switched to a healthy lifestyle when they were taught about the importance of health and fitness as well as were given a nutrition guide. Furthermore, lowering the prices or offering some discounts to access the health centres will also be beneficial. To conclude, the main reasons for this generation to be lazy are unhealthy lifestyles and high-cost prices. However, to mitigate these problems government should create awareness about health and fitness and decrease the cost of recreational activity centres.