Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the emergence of plastic containers has become extremely ubiquitous thanks to their convenience and versatility, especially in the food and beverage industry. Regarding their pros and cons in the environmental and long-term prospects, I strongly believe that plastic packages are increasingly destructive and bring more risks to our civilisation than benefits. On the one hand, non-biodegradable products, especially bags and pouches, play indispensable roles in our daily lives. To be more specific, elastic bags are very enduring and convenient for consumers with an abundance of functions ranging from daily carrying to storage in vast quantities. For instance, most people use plastic bags when they go shopping no matter the number of products. Furthermore, the production and consumption of plastic containers are economical for domestic progress, producers, and customers. The cost of manufacturing and purchasing is very low so all residents can afford to utilise these bags to carry anything from food, and drinks to heavy things. On the other hand, the improper disposal of discarded plastics undeniably detrimentally affects the environment and the health of people. In terms of residential health, people are suffering from several hazardous diseases such as lung cancer or chronic asthma because of excessive burning wastes, which are the current primary solutions to tackle overextended wastes. For instance, citizens who live near the collective area of burning waste are increasingly at risk of getting respiratory-related diseases. In addition, the excessive consumption of plastic products also leads to the deterioration of the ecological system, soil and water in particular. According to several renowned environmentalists, the decomposing cycle of plastics can reach hundreds of millions of years and they release an abundance of destructive compounds and chemicals. In doing so the safety of underground water resources and minerals in lands can be ensured entirely. In conclusion, although all the aforementioned benefits of plastic containers are attractive, profitable and friendly to manufacturers and consumers, improper disposal and excessive consumption may cause several risks of environmental deterioration and residential health.