The continuous rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humans at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem we are currently facing?

It is a commonly held belief that the rising number of human beings has become a serious issue in recent years. Some individuals worry about the harmful results this phenomenon is causing, while others think that any potential impact has been overstated. To some extent, I believe that the growing number of people will not be a considerable problem. Firstly, the innovation of medical contraception is causing the birth rate to plunge year by year. In order to maintain their living quality, there are more and more families who are choosing not to have many children. In fact, nowadays, most families choose to not have any children or merely to have one. Secondly, the improvements in gender equality have also helped to reduce the number of infants. Patriarchy is gradually disappearing and more women are able to have their own careers. Hence, lots of women choose not to pregnant recently. However, there are still some people claiming that the growth of population will cause the resources and food on the earth to run out eventually. In my perspective, this hypothesis is not true, because technology is continuously developing. For example, new sources of generating electricity are being developed in recent years, such as solar energy, and scientists are inventing various ways of using energy more efficiently. In addition to this, there are some countries where the population is declining, such as Japan, and this trend is likely to be more common. In conclusion, it is unnecessary to worry about the rising population. The number is not going to keep rising because people in many countries are having fewer children. Moreover, the development of technology provides new machines to help them finish the work.