Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is clearly visible that in recent times all governments are thriving to develop their countries economically regardless of other consequences. While some proponents agree that governing bodies should focus on economic growth, others contend that there are various factors that nuance the well-being of a country. This essay will discuss both perspectives before deriving a conclusion. The economic progress of a country delivers several benefits to their citizens. This can lead to technological advancement allowing exotic inventions that enable people to live a comfortable life. For example, unlike developing countries, the UK and the USA exhibit fascinating technological innovations such as Artificial Intelligence, Virtual Reality and smart appliances to assist and enhance the lifestyle of their citizens. The sophisticated facilities are available only to those who are residing in financially flourishing regions. This extravagance exemplifies the importance of the financial strength of a country. However, focusing narrowly on financial growth does not ensure the healthy lives of individuals. A nation's prestige is represented in terms of health and education also. Even though a country flourishes with an ample amount of money, if the health deteriorates, it can be said that all the efforts for advancement are in vain. It is essential to pay attention to vital elements, to withstand all forms of shortcomings. For instance, Japan which is well-known for its tremendous development in technology and economy is currently alarmed by the significant rise in cancer, infertility and mental stress. Although the authorities and scientists are addressing counter-measures to tackle these issues, still the positive outcomes are subtle. Additionally, it is needless to say that education plays a vital role in enhancing overall knowledge which resonates with the prosperity of a nation. Finland is an epitome of other countries in this regard, which allows free education to students prioritizing mental health and has been declared the happiest country in the world. Therefore, it can be stated that nurturing other essential factors is also crucial for a nation. In conclusion, while focusing on economic growth is highly mandatory, I believe governments should provide equal priority to other types of progress too.