It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Many people argue that in order to fight diseases, the government should invest more money in encouraging a healthy lifestyle instead of spending capital on the treatment of patients. I partly agree with this point of view for a number of reasons, which will be outlined in this essay. To begin with, there are a few reasons why society has an idea that public property should be spent on the medication of ill people. One of the main reasons is that, in terms of treatment, the investment of the government in medical facilities or hospitals is critical to patients, especially those who can not afford their operations. It means that the authority should create a welfare policy for serious diseases such as cancer or cardiovascular, which require a large cost for treatments. As a result, many people can have access to treatment. Another reason is that vaccination for some diseases requires financial support from the government. To illustrate, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the fee for vaccinating against the COVID-19 virus is free for citizens thanks to public money; Consequently, the effect of the virus has decreased as more than 80% of citizens have been vaccinated. On the other hand, the idea that public wealth should be spent more on promoting a healthy lifestyle for society also has many benefits. The first factor that earns my support is that the improvement of good health is relatively cheaper than cure in several cases. For instance, campaigns and propaganda to encourage the citizens to live healthier should be broadcast on television and other forms of media. Another factor is that investment in public infrastructure should be given more attention. In fact, parks and sports centres should be built more so that residents can come and exercise regularly. Hence, the rate of people getting sick would decrease and the resistance is better. Furthermore, another factor is that many medical conditions are the direct result of unhealthy habits leading to chronic disorders such as obesity, insomnia, or cancer. Additionally, health promotion and disease prevention initiatives can produce greater long-term social impacts. In conclusion, there is no denying that both opinions are well-grounded. In my opinion, the metropolitan should be aware of a healthy lifestyle, and the investment of the patients from the government should be a high priority.