In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancement in technology has affected every sector and created new avenues. It has also transformed how we make payments today. Transactions using mobile phone applications such as digital wallets are becoming increasingly popular due to their convenience and accessibility. I agree with this change and will discuss how the advantages overcome the disadvantages. To begin with, there are various advantages to switching to online payments. First of all, this mode of transaction is convenient and hassle-free. The steps to pay are simple to understand and can be done by anyone with a bank account and a debit card. Furthermore, it reduces the need to carry physical cash when going outside. Secondly, it also provides an audit facility for the users, which allows them to keep track of transactions on a daily basis. For instance, a Mobile App called Paytm maintains a passbook, that can be accessed anytime to view the payments made from the account. Hence, this reduces any disagreement between parties related to any transaction. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages to digital banking. The main problem is the rise in fraud and cybercrime. Criminals these days are quite innovative and keep on coming up with different ways to steal people’s money. For example, many incidents have been reported where lakhs of rupees were swiped from people’s accounts by tricking them into sharing their unique authentication PIN. To conclude, there are a plethora of benefits of paying through phones, that help the individual with their daily life. Evidently, this payment method is more convenient and transparent than carrying cash. However, one should be aware of the risks and be cautious while making payments.