Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Academic background and work experience are two crucial parts of getting qualified for a professional job. Whereas some people believe that getting vocational training is sufficient to secure a job, others are of the view that higher education is the only pathway to a reputable career. I completely agree with the latter opinion because, in my perspective, university education has become an eligible mandatory criterion to select efficient candidates. The justification for my stance will be further demonstrated in the lines below. To begin with, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to compete. A university degree is a distinguishing factor in that case because the difficulty of gaining admission, getting through the duration of the course, and passing final exams ensures that employers know that graduates have the necessary self-discipline, intelligence, and ability to get through the courses. Accordingly, a new report shows that a college degree continues to provide better employment prospects and higher income, as per an article published in Forbes. Moreover, there are some indispensable professions that require higher education over apprenticeship. The knowledge foundation and theoretical grounding in basic concepts to a high level are fundamental for those specific fields. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, engineer, or lawyer without having a relevant degree. As a result, university graduates have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications. Hence, it might be argued that work experience is just enough for some professions such as craft jobs or service work. Nevertheless, academic knowledge is a must for other high calibers. In conclusion, rushing to get a job after getting your school certificate might be an eye-opener experience for a fresh graduate who has not tried to apply the theoretical knowledge they studied. Yet, in the next stage of their career path, a higher degree will always be beneficial in order to be distinguished amongst their peers. Subsequently, it is suggested that universities and higher institutions increase high-impact practices such as community learning and internships to fill this gap between theoretical life and practical life.