Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

For the past few decades, technology has had a powerful impact which has made people's lives easier. Today, individual needs a strong internet connection in order to download copyrighted e-books and soundtracks without even paying for them. I believe that this is a positive development as it is convenient and provides a variety of options to people. Firstly, the major reason why it is beneficial for people is because it is easily accessible. To explain further, an individual just needs to surf on internet through his technological gadgets to find any information related to any context. In addition, he or she can do it from the comfort of his or her home, which means there is no need travelling to a certain distance in order to find the information. A student, for instance, does not need to go through thousands of books available in the library to write an essay related to his academic subject. Overall, the easier the accessibility to information, the better the chances to save time and invest it to develop a new skill. Secondly, it provides unlimited choices to people, explorers can find a wide range of content related to music and books. As most of the products related to arts are overpriced, in the past people were really restricted to enjoy a few dimensions of arts. However, in the present time, with strong internet connectivity, people are no longer limited to enjoying certain genres of music and books. To illustrate, by using applications such as Spotify or YouTube, a person can access innumerable songs from different musicians around the world. Clearly, the internet is a hub of knowledge where a person can find anything of interest. In conclusion, I think that this impact of technology is a boon for humans as it has allowed people to access information about anything from anywhere in the globe. Moreover, the vast variety of content available on the internet is advantageous for those who are keen to explore new things.