In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many cultures, encouragement is considered as a method of motivation to students and they often are persuaded that achievements will come if they give them all. This opinion has obvious efficiency, however, some drawbacks also need to be mentioned so I will explain in more detail in this essay. On the one hand, motivating people to work hard will create perfect results which enhance self-confidence. When youngsters are instilled with the belief in themself, they will have enough perseverance to get through difficult tasks and setbacks. This will develop essential skills such as resilience, self-efficacy and a growth mindset. For Instance, when a child is constantly told that they will be successful if he tries hard, he will find a way to overcome while dealing with challenges, even if he is initially daunted. In addition, he also does not mind trying on the field which may not be his proficiency. On the other hand, it is quite clearly seen that some potential disadvantages also possibly make paradoxical impacts. For example, receiving too much encouragement may cause unrealistic cognition about their ability to succeed. In fact, sometimes success is attributed to many factors like luck, privilege, societal structures and education. If students do not have a clear vision, they will be shocked when facing failure which could ultimately lead to frustration, self-blame and demotivation. In conclusion, it is really effective to give encouragement to children due to its benefits in self-confidence and boosting the ability when facing difficulty. However, its negative side still exists which offers a serious consideration to avoid shock when bad situations happen.