Television is dangerous because it destroys family life and any sense of community; instead of visiting people or talking with our family, we just watch television. What is your opinion?

As television has gained unprecedented popularity, many people spend a few hours a day watching TV programs. Wasting an excessive amount of time each day watching TV could surely throw a person ’s life off balance. Neglecting this issue not only does affect the individual’s family and social life but also many other aspects of their well-being. First of all, people who don’t keep an eye on their TV usage are routinely wasting time that could otherwise be spent on other tasks. Surely, a person who spends their free time in front of the TV has fewer chances for social interactions. Considering the fact that humans are social animals, this isolation could take a heavy toll on the mental health of the individual. Also, as whole families spend their time together watching TV shows, they are missing out on an excellent time to be bonding with each other. As a result of these effects, such a person would not only have trouble with the number of their social connections but also with the quality and depth of their relationships. Additionally, this wasted time could be spent on a variety of hobbies and sports. Spending your time on a hobby or sport could lead to your further development and interest in that particular pastime. In contrast, watching TV every day makes life exhaustingly boring. Secondly, since most people spend all of their working hours indoors, we should endeavour to get fresh air as much as we can. Passing our leisure time by watching TV also makes us stay indoors for a big portion of our free time. Consequently, spending too much time in front of the TV also affects how much a person receives fresh air and direct sunlight. These factors are of the utmost importance in a person ’s mental and physical well-being as they play an essential role in the balance of the hormonal system. In conclusion, I think that uncontrolled usage of TV can definitely dwarf a person's social life and consequently be dangerous to their well-being. I suggest that everybody decides how much they would like to be spending in front of the TV beforehand, and manage their leisure time accordingly.