It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do. ” Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit?Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language

In these modern days, people can easily travel anywhere in the world, thanks to the advanced technology in transportation. Indeed, tourism has been becoming popular in many parts of the earth. Some people believe that we have to respect and learn the local culture of places that visited. I firmly agree with the statement, and I believe that we will still be able to adapt or understand local culture, even though we know nothing about their language. To begin with, there is a saying "When in Rome, do as the Romans do" which means that we should always try to adapt and respect the culture and customs of the country that we visit. There are a few different reasons why I agree with the aforementioned statement. Firstly, one of the main reasons for travelling to other countries is to learn about new culture and traditions that are distinctive from ours. This way, we will have a different perspective and broaden mind. Secondly, as a guest in a new place, it is paramount that we respect the local custom and belief. Therefore, we might have a safe and enjoyable staying. A few weeks ago, two foreign tourists in Bali got arrested and deported to their country because they walked around in the village despite knowing it was forbidden due to Nyepi Festival. Nyepi is a religious festival for Balinese, where every person in Bali should stay at home. In terms of whether it is possible to learn a culture without spending time to learn the language, I believe that the answer is yes it quite possible to understand and adapt a culture without learning the related language. In my opinion, culture is a huge aspect of people lives, and language just a little part of a culture. For example, a myriad of foreigners in Bandung learn and practice Sundanese dance, and despite not knowing Sundanese or Indonesian language they became very good at it. In conclusion, we indeed have to respect the local culture of the place we visit so that we might have a better life experience. Also, it is quite possible to learn other aspects of a culture but the language.