Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an aging population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the amount of elderly population has increased significantly. Although some individuals argue that it will be a problem for states, I strongly believe this situation will have benefits over drawbacks. The upward trend of an ageing society in the country has several benefits. Firstly, some groups of elderly people who have sufficient wealth and financial well-being can generate revenue for the country and stimulate the economy due to their purchasing power. Moreover, currently, many countries continually have lower birth rates resulting in a lower amount of workers and laborers. Elderly people who are still healthy can work and drive the country forward. Even Though there are some drawbacks of an ageing society, it can be mitigated. When the states have more ageing people, the younger people have to work and pay more taxes in order to subsidize the elderly. However, the senior citizens who are able to work also have the ability to pay for tax in order to develop the country. Another disadvantage of an ageing society is the government needs to spend a huge amount of the budget on the healthcare system. Nevertheless, it can be mitigated by encouraging and educating senior citizens to do the things that can improve their health, for example, eating healthy food and exercising. In conclusion, an ageing population has benefits over the drawbacks such as stimulating the economy and releasing the problem of lower birth rates. Nonetheless, there are some disadvantages, there are several ways to mitigate them.