Some think newspapers are the best method for reading the news while others think other media is better. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Paper-based news has been a great source of information since the old days before the internet was well established. Many people tend to rely on newspapers as their source of daily information. However, I side with those who believe that other media, such as television and online websites are a lot better. This will be proven by discussing how fast and convenient online media is, compared to paper-based one. Firstly, the advantage of acquiring information from the newspaper is the guaranteed credibility as the news from a newspaper company has to undergo a strict fact-checking rule by the editors before publishing it to the public. For instance, the journalists and sources used in Tempo newspaper (one of the newspaper companies in Indonesia) must be credible and checked, which minimises the possibility of hoaxes. On the contrary, things we find in online media are not necessarily true because everyone can post their opinions and writings without having to do fact-checking. Hence, conventional newspaper serves as a more legitimate source of information rather than online media. Despite the benefits mentioned, written media also has the crucial drawback, which is not as up-to-date as online media because it takes a significant amount of time to process the news from gathering raw information, cross-checking, printing, and finally distributing it. For example, people who read newspapers will find out about an earthquake that happened in Japan later than those who see the news on TV. Thus, the society that mainly uses online media tends to get updated news compared to those who read paper-based news. In conclusion, the usage of newspapers as the main source of information has a significant advantage (receiving updated news more quickly) that overshadows the drawback, which is a smaller possibility of encountering false information. To handle this disadvantage, readers should do individual fact-checking as well as be wise media consumers of the internet and television.