People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason for this? What are the effects of this habit?

It can be seen as an increase in the shortage of sleep among the population nowadays compared to before. This tendency, which can be because of spending a long time on work and technological advances, causes a host of significant drawbacks for individuals and society. Regarding the first reason, in today’s business life, people tend to spend long hours in offices and buildings for their future careers or family obligations. Admittedly, staying awake late offers individuals more time for their jobs and earn enough money to live in self-sufficiency. Nevertheless, not receiving enough energy from sleep can lead to extreme stress and hinder their performance. The reason is that employees will lose their ability to relax and energize their bodies and minds, which, as a result, undermines their mental concentration and communication abilities. More seriously, this lack of concentration can cause danger to others. For example, drivers who have fewer sleeping hours than their actual bodies need, can lose their control and be dangerous to not only themselves but also to other members of society. Furthermore, owing to great advances being made in technology, many much more interesting options than sleeping have become available for users, which shortens their sleep hours. In addition, a surge in screen time with laptops, smartphones, tablets, and television excites individuals’ brains, making it tough to fall asleep. Appropriately, individuals who get less sleep always feel tired increasing the probability of catching chronic health issues such as diabetes, tiredness, and depression. Moreover, the tiredness of citizens can cause a stressful atmosphere, which negatively influences others around them. This is because those who do not get enough sleep may become grumpy, and worse shout at others. In conclusion, the causes of the population not getting enough sleep might vary, but priorities for career and technology developments are common causes of this phenomenon. However, sleep deprivation has a domino effect on one's personal and professional life that may even have an impact on society and the economy as a whole.