Mordern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

It is certain, that comtemperory technology has made it easier to download music and scripts from internet without any cost. I agree with the fact, that it will benefit many people who cannot afford to buy such exquisite items. But on the other hand, it will effect the book publication companies and music studio companies with heavy losses. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this current trend. Firstly, lets's discuss the positive aspects of this trend. The younger generation has benefited with the perogative to download their favorite music and books with no charges. There are many music lover's, who listen to music very often, to heal their minds and I don't see anything wrong with it. College Students can now download their curriculum book at no cost. This will enable them to save their money and read anything that they would like to with no extra charges. Certain book that are very heavy can now be replaced with the online versions. This will enable us to carry it in a portable device without any effort. For instance, Britannica which are extremly heavy and hard to purchase, can be easily downloaded over internet. However, there is a negative aspect with regards to this issue. The main reason being that writers, singers and music producers will face a tremendous loss. Income of many writters and singers are dependent on the sales of their work. If this trend continues many people will loose their jobs. For Instance, I had a family member, who has the passion to write novel's. She recently launched her book in amazon. As soon as her book hit the market, someone released the pirated version of her book in internet. This is hampered her earnings to a great extend. If we don't safeguard their rights, we may end up lossing some of the biggest talents and one day they may dissapper. In a nutshell, I would like to conclude by stating that modern technology has definitely helped the middle class and lower middle class family to afford some great music and books at zero price. But, this will impact the publication houses and music industries. The reason being that, their survival is dependent on the sales of their books and music respectively.