Mordern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development

It is certain, that contemporary technology has made it easier to download music and scripts from the Internet without any cost. I agree with the fact, that it will benefit many people who cannot afford to buy such exquisite items. But on the other hand, it will affect the book publication companies and music studio companies with heavy losses. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this current trend. Firstly, let's discuss the positive aspects of this trend. The younger generation has benefited from the prerogative to download their favourite music and books at no charge. There are many music lovers, who listen to music very often, to heal their minds and I don't see anything wrong with it. College Students can now download their curriculum book at no cost. This will enable them to save their money and read anything that they would like to for no extra charges. Certain books that are very heavy can now be replaced with an online versions. This will enable us to carry it in a portable device without any effort. For instance, Britannica which is extremely heavy and hard to purchase, can be easily downloaded over the Internet. However, there is a negative aspect to this issue. The main reason is that writers, singers and music producers will face a tremendous loss. The Income of many writers and singers is dependent on the sales of their work. If this trend continues many people will lose their jobs. For Instance, I had a family member, who had a passion for writing novels. She recently launched her book on Amazon. As soon as her book hit the market, someone released the pirated version of her book on the Internet. This has hampered her earnings to a great extent. If we don't safeguard their rights, we may end up losing some of the biggest talents and one day they may disappear. In a nutshell, I would like to conclude by stating that modern technology has definitely helped many middle-class and lower-middle-class families to afford some great music and books at zero price. But, this will impact the publication houses and music industries. The reason being that, their survival is dependent on the sales of their books and music respectively.