International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Traveling overseas has provided a host country with tremendous benefits although it would induce some perennial problems regarding the society or the ecosystem. Personally, the disadvantages could outweigh the merits to some extent. Admittedly, international travel may benefit a certain country in terms of cultural and societal values. One of the obvious advantages is the appearance of novel cultures, which may diversify the host’s customs and foods, for example, the popularity of Vietnamese pho or banh mi in the world. Furthermore, the presence of international tourism can exert a remarkably positive influence on the way people interact and communicate. In other words, languages and pieces of knowledge of other countries could be introduced to local people so that the beneficiary society can broaden their horizons and develop their background. On the other hand, the association with international friends can devastate their habitats and the public. The prominent disadvantage of a throng of tourists is environmental issues, for instance, air pollution, and soil or water contamination. The more tourists set foot on a destination, the more trash they might litter to that place. Consequently, the tourist attraction has shifted from an exquisite landscape to a landfill owing to the indiscrimination of the minority of tourists. Another drawback is that local habitats may be coerced into assimilation if they interact with different cultures over a long period. For example, Vietnamese teenagers have some Vietnamese profanities inspired by English abbreviations or vocabulary although they have little acquaintance with these words or do not know exactly the meanings of those abbreviations. Hence, these aforementioned downsides can outweigh the advantages at all. In conclusion, despite many bright sides of international tourism, there are some more significant dilemmas that have not been completely resolved yet. Personally, the government had better pass some pertinent regulations to desist littering and ethnic issues.