In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern age, employees have to spend extra hours working in many different countries in the world. There are several reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both family life and communication as a whole, and I believe this does more harm than good. There are two important factors why working time is extended among people. Firstly, it is definitely that people want to earn more money so that they can afford their daily life. Nowadays, the cost of living has increased a lot more than before, not only in the big cities but also in the countryside. That problem puts heavy pressure on employees and workers, making their lives harder. Furthermore, working overtime is required for the breadwinner to have enough money to pay bills and feed themselves, and their families. Secondly, they have to face heavy workloads, which forces them to spend more time working on it. If they minimize the time doing these works, there is a high chance they miss the deadlines, unable to finish given tasks, which is a big trouble with their careers. Although the advantages this tendency brings to us, I think it is negative due to two main reasons. One main cause of this issue is that it causes lots of serious health problems when residents spend long hours at work. Overworking makes them have little or no time off, and continuing this situation for a long time will lead to physical degradation, and some meet mental issues. Another negative impact of this is the imbalance of work and life. Many people spend half of their day working at the office, in construction,... so they don't have enough time for themselves, the ones who have a relationship with such as family and friends. This also leads to the fact that they find no fun in daily life because of lack of time, relationships can be broken. In conclusion, there a some reasons why employees work overtime. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and society at large.