More and more plastic wastes are polluting in world cities, countryside and oceans. What are the problems caused by plastic waste? What measures should be taken to solve it?

It is true that human beings pollute an increasing number of plastic pollution into nature. There are many issues caused by this phenomenon and governments should cooperate with citizens to mitigate it. On the one hand, with the increasing amount of plastics, many problems can be anticipated. Firstly, the non-biodegradability of plastic poses a severe and irreversible threat to marine animals, which exerts detrimental impacts on them and even risks their lives. For instance, a rising number of whales died from eating plastic waste mistakenly due to the fact that they couldn’t digest it. Additionally, the trend would lead to the deterioration of the environment including contaminated rivers and oceans, further resulting in the disruption of biodiversity. Besides,the large amount of rubbish requires institutions and governments to invest plenty of expenditures involving labourer costs and machines, which hinders and impedes the development of the nation in the long term. On the other hand, there are several actions that can be taken to address these problems mentioned above. Initially, authorities are supposed to appeal for residents to engage in environment-protect activities aiming to arouse awareness of environmental consciousness. In addition, cooperation could reduce the number of plastic products and search for alternative materials instead of plastic. For example, some low-cost products like bags and straws which are widely used as daily necessities can be replaced by using paper to produce them. Moreover, states should legislate more regulations and laws to restrict the excessive use of plastic and execute it strictly without hesitation. In conclusion,environmental changes and huge expenditures are the main problems caused by a large amount of plastic waste and actions should be taken along several fronts through joint efforts from citizens, enterprises and authorities.