In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reason for this? How can people research this?

A few people are keen on knowing more about their surroundings, ancestors and even their residences in certain Countries. This essay will portray the reason behind such interests and the methods that can be taken to understand this. Firstly, until a few decades ago, the older generation knew about generations of great-grandparents. However, due to nuclearization, people got more focused on knowing only about their elders, which caused history to vanish. Furthermore, nowadays, most civilizations are working and they seldom have time and need to think about who were the early inhabitants of the city or even their own buildings. In a recent survey conducted by the National database in India, 78 per cent of people only wanted to know who were the previous occupants in their apartment, and none were looking to find any other information and deemed it as irrelevant. On the contrary, some Universities conduct courses that demand students to find these details, which may still be available in libraries nearby. For those who want to know more, refer to the concerned government's directory of resources; a copy of which will be available in most museums, can help to obtain such information. Apart from that, in the modern world, the internet is a great source of reference; which consists of websites filled with matching information in abundance. In conclusion, it is a known fact that these particulars are available in plenty. However, it is left to the discretion of an individual to refer such. Knowing more about the history of a hometown may help a person to understand his or the city's roots and assist in its betterment.